top of page
Search

Writing Corner Author: SV Filice

Updated: May 7, 2023

Canada is quickly becoming one of our favorite places to look for great indie authors and works like those of Writing Community authors Bryan Quinn, Mark Bierman, and now our latest Writing Corner author SV Filice. Her Young Adult/ NA fantasy novels have been described by reviewers as cool, mysterious, and having a dash of humor.


SV Filice is from a small town outside of Toronto, ON. "I'm a proud Canadian author!" She told our blog.


"My town is very small; we’re not known for much. We have training grounds for the provincial police and a street of small businesses that turnover - except for the Italian bakery that has the best croissants. If you ask out of towners, we are farm fields and in the middle of nowhere (which is completely untrue). That’s why most of us say we’re from Toronto. It’s easier to explain we are where the hockey fans line up and the clear floors of the CN Tower look over."


SV is 25 years old but added, "If you count the Italian way, I'm 26 at the start of the year. (My birthday is in May born on Victoria Day: Samantha-Victoria). She was in the seventh grade when she said she wrote her first full-length story. "It was 444 pages on the dot and I still debate if I have enough courage to go back and edit it."


"I was a preteen when Twilight first hit theaters. I remember my good friend telling me about the book in the movie theatre parking lot. The next day, I bought my first fantasy novel. Vampires! I was so excited! On the way to the beach, a family friend told me I wouldn’t finish the book. I took the challenge, and I ended up reading the series twenty-two times. I loved that someone could create a world big enough to cause so much hype. I spent nights thinking to myself, “All I need is an idea and I can do it too.” Eventually, my mom grew tired of watching me read the same four books and for my birthday she bought me the Cassandra Clare’s City of Bone. At first, I thought there’s no way the book can compete with Twilight, but I was quickly proven wrong. Another book stole my heart! Since then, I’ve always been a lover of fantasy and stories. I wrote novels on lined paper in middle school, you had to sever me from the computer in high school, and then I went on to university to Major in Professional Writing. Book one, The Summoning was actually a course project. The book was a dream I had that I couldn’t shake, and I thought it would be perfect to write for the class!"


Her series The Moral Bloodlines "are about balancing belief and the darkness that lurks when we lose faith in ourselves. Angel Descendants attend a secluded camp to train in lessons of good and evil. Before they are summoned to a duty to protect the New Order, they have to learn to balance themselves in the four Senses: Sight of Knowing, Touch of Force, Sound of Truth, Voice of Reason. We learn of hidden affinities (gifts from the angels in an excelled Sense) and the real risk of falling to darkness. Through the perspective of Isabelle Lofflin, we gain Sight of a world otherwise hidden, we experience attacks, and waver close to darkness as she gains the strength to really accept her role in the prophecy. You can find the book blurb here."


When asked if she had a character she enjoyed writing about in the series she explained, "My favorite character to write in a scene is Onyx. Her spunk is the perfect comic relief when the scenes are otherwise tense. She is strong-willed and loves attention, but is fierce in who she cares for."


While she writes fantasy SV told the blog that she plans to query her dystopian novel by the end of 2021. Followers and readers can also probably guess her favorite genres to read are most definitely YA/NA Fantasy but she added, "I do enjoy classic dystopian novels and detective fiction," as well.


Ask SV where it is she likes to travel or visit, and she will not disappoint. England is on her list, the birthplace of great writers like Shakespeare. "I love visiting England. My sister lives there and whenever I step off the plane it’s like I feel the magic of its history. The old buildings, the rush of the streets, the storefronts. I go once a year and I can never forget my way."


SV also admitted that she enjoyed writing at Starbucks if only to get outside of the house, but that she was perfectly fine writing wherever there was a cup of coffee. She draws inspiration for her stories from her nightmares. "All my book ideas and first drafts started as a ranting text to my friends about what I just woke up from. I don’t know what that says about my mental health, but I’m grateful for each idea that haunts me until it’s written."


When we caught up with her SV was reading Cassandra Clare's The Dark Artifices trilogy. "Yes, still a fan since middle school! I am studying a novel where the male shows his affections while the main character (female) is oblivious. There aren’t many examples that come to mind, so I’m doing my homework! Also, I just finished Chain of Iron and I’m making plot connections between Clare’s past and present shadowhunter world and the detailed family trees. I hope to one day write something this intrinsic."

All authors have a quote that sticks with them, whether it is about writing, reading, or just reaching our goals. SV said that her favorite author quote was from Walter Benjamin, “Speech conquers thought, but writing commands it.”

Writing can be a lonely business, so it is important to have support. SV said her biggest supporters are her family and the writing community, "who are like my online family! The former offers emotional support, while the latter kicks my butt to do something about it."


She is working on another book and also has a few projects that she is excited to have published in the future. "It's a busy year but I'm determined to return back to the writing world!" And if you're wondering...her next book is the third installment of The Moral Bloodlines trilogy. "It is set to release this summer 2021!"


With all the work ahead of releasing a new book SV said when she had a moment away from work and writing she creates soap. "I started a small business for natural handmade soap: The Soap Nook by Filice Boutique I create fun designs, calming aromas, and wicked cool book-inspired themes!"


SV also has some four-legged writerly friends keeping her company, "I have two Newfoundlander dogs: Moose and Vylit. We call them The Twins! They’re honestly the sweetest souls and they will nudge my arm to remind me when it’s time for a break. Don’t ask me for pictures if you have to be somewhere."


When asked what advice she would like to give to writers who are considering self-publishing this year SV shared the following:


"Write because you love the craft, not because you expect a payout. The world will take care of you when it’s ready, but in the meantime, keep doing what you love and take breaks when you need them. Our minds are precious, and we have to take care of them. When the characters, the plot, or the small details don’t cooperate, don’t be afraid to step away. When writing starts to feel forced and no longer fun, it’s your body telling you to rest. You write for passion, don’t lose that. And of course, enjoy the process and have fun. There are many wonderful people with great advice: ask questions!"


Check out all of our Writing Corner author's links and read an exclusive excerpt from her first installment of The Moral Bloodlines, The Summoning below.



Excerpt


Audition Script: The Summoning SV Filice



SCENE1:


I keep thinking of Brett and Jeremy. Who their roommates are and if they believe in the purpose of


their camp. I remember the vivid image of a lunging snake, its lolled scaled body, and then smoke. I


shudder. It felt real and with every explanation, I feel something click inside me like I heard an


answer I never knew I needed. No, Brett would not give in without a fight; she would react as if she


were a hostage. I entertain the idea of her taking it out on whoever got suckered into rooming with


her. I fight the pressure building behind my eyes and swallow against my tight throat. She would


never let herself cry. I know Jeremy will attempt to find balance to receive freedom. I plan to do the


same. The campgrounds that separate us make Jeremy’s protection difficult. Of course, I tell myself


that they’re situated at a camp because I cannot bear the latter, which is the people I care about


succumbed to the darkness within them.


I pull out my phone to check the service. Where the four bars were it now flashes SOS. My


breath hitches in my throat and the familiar pressure surfaces behind my eyes the way it does when


I’m about to cry. I study the picture on the train. In the background, I sit on the bench talking as


Jeremy watches my reaction. His dark expression is unreadable, consumed by whatever pointless rant


I give. Brett’s greasy hair and round blue eyes shine from the bottom corner as she angles the camera


for the perfect shot. A knock thuds against my door. I shove my phone under my pillow just as it opens.


On experts in.“I asked for your room number. I didn’t want to sit around and do nothing. I’m down the hall.” She shrugs and jerks her thumb over her shoulder. I nod and she breezes past me. “Come in.”My voice sounds hoarse and I try to remember when I last spoke. Zilla’s fierceness must have stunned me into timid silence.



Author Bio

Samantha-Victoria is a Canadian writer of fantasy fiction. Her debut novel, The Summoning, was self-published in 2017. Though, this was not the start of her writing dreams. A storyteller in childhood, a reader in her youth, and a writer in her teens, SV Filice later attended the University of Toronto to study Professional Writing as well as Culture, Communications, and Information Technology. After receiving her BA, Filice continues to write short stories and other stand-alone novels. She works on the third book release of the Moral Bloodlines Trilogy, which she will self-publish.



Follow SV Filice on Social Media and visit her website for all the latest:


Instagram / Twitter: @svfilice

Facebook: @svfiliceauthor


SV encourages new writers to drop by and say hello, "I always look forward to connecting with new readers and making new writing friends."

A big thank you to our Writing Corner Wednesday authors, poets, and storytellers for sharing their remarkable works with us. We hope you will follow them and also follow our Writer of the Week. Catch our Podcast every 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month via Anchor, Spotify, Apple Podcast, Google Podcast, and more. Follow The Writing Wall on Twitter @TheWritingWall and on Instagram @writingsonthewall85 for more details.

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page