top of page
Search

Writer of the Week: Big Mouth Blues

Updated: Jul 8, 2020

Introducing Danalynn Donovan an indie author and Writing Community member. Her book Big Mouth Blues is about "a blabbermouth who no one suspects is keeping a colossal secret..."


*CW: This post does feature information related to domestic violence, child abuse, and addiction. The material that follows might be potentially traumatic.




Cover of Big Mouth Blues



~Everyone acts out of their own brokenness.~ ~You can't fix yourself by breaking someone else.~




Danalynn Donovan lives in Troy, Ohio. A place she says is famous for the Wright Patterson Air Force Base and the Wright Brother's Air Force Museum. Something this blogger, and Carolina girl can appreciate being from the First in Flight State.


Danalynn is the author of realistic fiction for young adult readers, but her stories have something for everyone.


This indie author also just celebrated her 49th birthday last week! She is the author of Big Mouth Blues and told the blog she fell in love with writing when she was twelve years old.

"My sister got me into it. We were both voracious readers, and she dabbled in writing. I found an unfinished story of hers and asked her if I could finish it. She stopped writing a little while later, but I've written ever since."


Having read Big Mouth Blues myself, I was instantly reminded of another young adult writer who caught my attention in middle school written by Sharon M. Draper and titled, Forged by Fire. Both of these books are heartfelt and powerful all while touching on subjects that can be challenging for writers, or readers, to discuss.


How did Danalynn Donovan come up with this story? She told The Writing Wall Blog, "I was getting ready to get in the shower one Friday afternoon when a sentence popped into my head. I hurried to grab a pad of paper and write it down so I wouldn't forget it, and the next thing I knew I had a whole page written on the start of a chapter." The line read, "Your dad's going to murder you when he finds out you've escaped." That evening Danalynn said she chose her title and by the end of the weekend, she had four chapters written.

Kasey, the young girl who is featured as Danalynn's main character, is constantly in trouble with her father for talking (blabbering) when she should be quiet. Her home life is anything but stable, and like all big sisters, she constantly tries to protect her two youngest siblings from their father's alcoholic outbursts. Her mother, a victim too, comes to terms with what is happening to Kasey slowly. Big Mouth Blues delivers some colossal secrets of its own, but I refuse to blab any further.


All writers have their spot(s) where they like to go to work on their WIPs (works in progress). Danalynn enjoys sitting in her recliner chair in the living room typing away on her laptop. She says it may sound boring "but my chair is comfortable and convenient, and the environment is nice and quiet. I need silence while I write, or else I get easily distracted."


I did ask Danalynn if she had any advice for writers who are touching on topics such as abuse, alcoholism, or addition.


She said, "do lots of research! I knew nothing about these topics when I first started writing Big Mouth Blues. I was raised by very loving and supportive parents, and my three older siblings and I had a wonderful childhood. But as the story took shape so did my characters and their motivations grew. I had to put myself in each of their shoes and figure out how I would feel if these things happened to me personally. I also tried to make each character relatable. Yes, even Mason, who is the antagonist of the story. Everyone has a reason for being the way they are, even villains. And I did a lot of research on each of these topics to make sure I had my facts right."


Photo of Author Danalynn Donovan

When asked what her favorite genre to read was Danalynn said she enjoys Realistic Young Adult and contemporary because she loves realism and coming-of-age, coming-into-your-own type of stories saying, "The possibilities with the 12 to 18-year-old timeframe is endless." Her favorite author quote is from Ernest Hemingway, "The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong at the broken places." Danalynn told the blog that her main character came to her as she was writing and is not based on any certain person. She admitted to just letting the creativity flow, "I never know what characters are going to show up or what the story is going to be about until I write it." Aside from the main character in Big Mouth Blues Danalynn said she enjoyed writing Kacey's best friend in to the picture, Maxine and Kacey's love interest Wade. "Maxine has been Kacey's "person" since before they could talk and has always been there for her through thick and thin. Wade is a sweetly charming and genuinely caring person, and he's very good for, and to, Kacey." It is these two characters that are the reason Kacey has stayed so grounded throughout her terrible childhood, and while reading the book, they were my favorites too. The message Danalynn hopes her readers will take away from Big Mouth Blues is one of hope. "No matter how bad anything looks, there is always hope!" She told the blog. Of course, being a Young Adult author also begs the question of what their favorite book was as a child. Danalynn said she enjoyed anything by Judy Blume and then Laurie Halse Anderson was also a favorite. In her spare time, Danalynn enjoys TV or movies and practice her Ukulele (a hidden talent of hers). She also makes time to read before bed. When asking if there may be a sequel to Big Mouth Blues, Danalynn told the blog that it was a "stand-alone novel, but I've had several readers request a sequel, and I DO have ideas for one if I ever manage to take the time to write it." Don't think this means she has not been writing at all because Danalynn most certainly has. She has a new young adult novel with a new main character who is 12 to 13 years old. This story is completely different from Big Mouth Blues she said, "and deals with love and loss, healing and forgiveness, and letting go to find love again." Danalynn is hoping to publish next year. The best advice she has for up and coming indie-authors and writers, "Don't rush into it. Make sure your novel is edited and the story is the very best that you can write before you publish. Get as many beta readers as you can critique it. Trust your gut instincts. If it's not quite ready yet, you'll know. And when it is ready, you'll know. Perseverance and persistence are key!" So many authors are choosing self-publishing as a route because it does allow for full creative control. Danalynn told the blog that is one of the main reasons she opted for self-published over the traditional route. I will also add here that it is a great way to learn the business of books and for readers to find new favorites. Want to read an excerpt? Well, you're in luck! Here is a sneak peek into Big Mouth Blues: “I’m only neat and organized because Dad makes me,” I say to the floor. Mom takes my cheeks in her hands. “Well, there you go. He isn’t here. I am. And if he doesn’t like the way I clean up his mess, he can redo it himself.” I shudder. “But what if he comes back?” “That’s exactly my point, Kace. I don’t want you here when he comes back.” She pushes me toward the door, renewed strength in her voice. “I’ll deal with your father. You scoot and have a nice time at the movies with Maxine tomorrow.” Wade touches my shoulder. “I think your mom’s right, Freckles.” No. Mom, I can’t leave--” Yes, Kacey, you can.” Now she’s pushing me and Wade both into the hall. “Don’t worry about me. I’m fine now, and I have everything under control. Wade, can you take her for me?” “Yes, ma’am.” He laces his fingers through mine. Wade Jameson is holding my hand. It feels wonderful. If only I could fully enjoy this moment. Danalynn is both engaging and friendly on all of her social media platforms. Her inspirational quotes sometimes help me through my days as I glance at Twitter or hang out on Instagram. To learn more about Big Mouth Blues, and Danalynn Donovan visits her at the following links and like, follow, and share if not already! FaceBook: facebook.com/danalynndonovan Twitter: @DanalynnDonovan Website: danalynndonovan.com A new Writer of the Week will be featured every Monday. Be sure to also follow The Writing Wall on Twitter @TheWritingWall, or on Instagram @writingsonthewall85 for the latest. You can also listen to the podcast every 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month. Just search for The Writing Wall on Spotify, Google Cast, Breaker, and more.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page