top of page
Search

Writer of the Week Brandon D. Henry

Updated: Jul 8, 2020

Meet our first Writer of the Week Brandon D. Henry. If you are a lover of any of these three genres; horror, fantasy, poetry, then you are in for a very frighteningly genuine surprise.


Instagram is a great place for writers of all genres. It is here I interacted with one author whose books are vaguely reminiscent of shows such as The Outer Limits or Twilight Zone.


Author Brandon D. Henry is 35 years old, and a resident of Princeton, Texas, and has released his most recent book titled Midnight Forever: The Cracked Doll. As an author and a historian at heart, I felt compelled to inquire about how he became interested in writing. Brandon explained, "I grew up reading everything I could get my hands on, and in junior high school, found everyone I knew had a cool talent, except me. So, I tried my hand at writing some short stories. Wrote three in one night and have never stopped."


His favorite writing spot is... you guessed it! "Starbucks! And my favorite chair in the corner of my room," is also a great spot. While his books are filled with short stories, it is refreshing to equally appreciate the poetry thrown in tying these macabre and darkly wondrous tales together. Among the authors he admires is none other than Edgar Allan Poe. Brandon says the Poe quote, "I am a writer; therefore, I am not sane," is his favorite.


Photo of author Brandon D. Henry


Naturally, writers do more than just write. We enjoy downtime too. "Inline skating, playing way too many video games, and thinking about how I should be writing," is on the list of activities Brandon enjoys when he is not committing words to paper. Moreover, Brandon D. Henry offered some excellent advice for all those who are thinking about self-publishing, "Do it! Get sucked into it like the rest of us have. The best thing you can do at the beginning is not to worry about sales. Worry about building your audience." Great advice from a writer who enjoys giving his readers a chill!

To learn more about Brandon D. Henry, visit his page on Instagram using the handle @author.brandon.d.henry. Or to check out his books and his most recent publication Midnight Forever: The Cracked Doll at the link provided below. Midnight Forever: The Cracked Doll link: https://www.amazon.com/Midnight-Forever-6-Cracked-Doll/dp/1706001053/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=midnight+forever+the+cracked+doll&qid=1591054005&sr=8-1 A new Writer of the Week will be featured every Monday. Be sure to also follow The Writing Wall on Twitter @TheWritingWall, or on Instagram @writingsonthewall85 for the latest.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page