top of page
Search

Writer of the Week: Donna Everhart

North Carolina is known as the Writingest State and for good reason. It is here authors like Thomas Wolfe, Nicholas Sparks, Jan Karon, and many others have emerged. Joining their ranks are authors we have featured here on this blog such as Bren McClain, Charlie Lovett, and now our Writer of the Week, Donna Everhart. Donna is the author of many books but achieved high acclaim when she was selected as the Southeastern Library Association’s (SELA) Author of the Year in Fiction in 2018 for her second novel The Road to Bittersweet.


Donna Everhart was born and raised in the state capital of North Carolina, Raleigh. Today she lives in nearby Dunn. As to her birthplace, she says Raleigh is known for many things. “It was named after Sir Walter Raleigh, who tried to found the first English colony in the 1580s. We have a park, called Pullen Park that’s the oldest in the state, and the 5th oldest operating park in the U.S. Raleigh is also called the City of Oaks because oak trees line the streets in the heart of the city. Lately, it’s making a name for itself with not only development and expansion in general, but the downtown area has a vibrant nightlife, including craft beers.” Meanwhile, her current residence is a small town steeped in history. “With less than 10k residents there are several historic homes/sites. Dunn also hosts the NC Cotton Festival and was once a logging town and turpentine distilling center.”


This author of southern fiction and historic fiction told our blog that what inspired her to start writing in the first place was reading. “I’ve thought about writing since I was about eighteen, but the real inspiration to begin telling my own stories came from other southern writers. I’ve always been a huge reader, from a very young age. Somewhere along the way, when I was in my mid-30s, I read Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. After reading all sorts of genres, that book was like a homecoming. Here was a story with people who not only “sounded” like me, but who could relate to my background and upbringing. From that moment on I searched out other writers like her. That led me to Dorothy Allison, and after reading Bastard Out of Carolina, something just clicked in my head, this was what I was meant to write. None of it came about fast, or easy, as any writer knows. It took years to get where I am today.”


Author Donna Everhart


Donna Everhart was born and raised in the state capital of North Carolina, Raleigh. Today she lives in nearby Dunn. As to her birthplace, she says Raleigh is known for many things. “It was named after Sir Walter Raleigh, who tried to found the first English colony in the 1580s. We have a park, called Pullen Park that’s the oldest in the state, and the 5th oldest operating park in the U.S. Raleigh is also called the City of Oaks because oak trees line the streets in the heart of the city. Lately, it’s making a name for itself with not only development and expansion in general, but the downtown area has a vibrant nightlife, including craft beers.” Meanwhile, her current residence is a small town steeped in history. “With less than 10k residents there are several historic homes/sites. Dunn also hosts the NC Cotton Festival and was once logging town and turpentine distilling center.”



Of course, this author admitted that “southern fiction,” is her favorite genre to read but she also added, “works done by authors who aren’t considered southern writers, but their work is reminiscent of that. Examples would be books by Cormac McCarthy, Donald Ray Pollock, and Tiffany McDaniel. I still like captivity stories too, and recently read one called Blue Tattoo, The Story of Olive Oatman. It was really well done, and based on historic facts and events.”


When we caught up with her, Donna had just finished reading, The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel, and was currently diving into A Good Neighborhood by Therese Anne Fowler. When it comes to writing, home is where she’s most comfortable. “I’m a routine sort of person, and plus, I can’t concentrate in a noisy environment. Secretly, I’m sort of envious of those who can write in a coffee shop, or a similar spot filled with people. Me? I’d be too busy trying to socialize and yak and the word count for the day would be non-existent.”


It’s the interesting historic events that inspire Donna's stories, “I can find a little nugget from the past, and begin to think about how it might work into a story. Sometimes finding some piece of information that deals with what life was like decades ago brings on an idea, and I find myself wanting to write about that.”


What part of the Tar Heel State does this NC writer enjoy visiting? “The mountains—anywhere in the mountains! That’s number one, but we’re fortunate here in NC to have the Crystal Coast too. Both places hold a bit of magic for me,” Donna replied.


Authors and writers of all genres find support to be important, especially when starting out. Many find it in the form of family, friends, or loved ones, some even find it in their readers or social media followers. For Donna Everhart, she said her biggest supporters are her husband and her writing community. “Whenever I need his ear or his support, he’s there to listen and to even plot with me sometimes. I also have the support of many writer friends—there’s nothing like them because they KNOW.”


Donna Everhart’s latest book is titled The Moonshiner’s Daughter, home to moonshine itself, and NASCAR among other things.


The Moonshiner’s Daughter, set in Wilkes County in 1960, on a fictitious mountain appropriately named, hang on…..Shine Mountain, (creative, right? Ha-ha) is narrated by sixteen-year-old Jessie Sasser, who witnessed her mother’s traumatic death at the age of four. Now she’s older, she has questions about the event, but her father refuses to answer them. She is certain her family’s moonshining business is the cause of her mother’s death. This creates conflict between her, and her family, as she wants no part of it. Jessie struggles with a poor self-image, triggering an eating disorder. When she sets out to destroy the family’s stills, her plan backfires, re-igniting an old rivalry with another moonshining family, the Murrys, and Jessie has to come to terms, not only with the “monster” within her but with the legacy she born into. The book can be purchased wherever books are sold.


The Moonshiner's Daughter Cover

When asked if she was working on another book and whether it would be a sequel or a stand-alone Mrs. Everhart told the blog, “It’s a standalone, as are all books so far. I don’t envision going back and writing a sequel to any of the books that are out —although I have had several people tell me my second book, The Road to Bittersweet, needs to have a follow-up story. The next book, The Saints of Swallow Hill, will publish in February 2022.”


In her spare time, Donna said she enjoys many things, “I used to be a big runner, but health issues have sidelined that, so now I enjoy walking, bike riding, baking, reading, and working out in the yard when the weather allows.”


When asked if she had any advice she would like to share with writers and up-and-coming authors who are looking to publish Donna said, “Probably for the millionth time, you’re going to hear the most common mundane answer, just from a different person - me. The most important thing anyone writing can do is. . . write. Recently I was struggling to come up with the storyline for the next new book, yet, I could not for the life of me, write the first word of an outline. (there’s a lot of flying by the seat of my pants too, but I’ve learned I like to have a basic structure first.) I had a historic event in mind, but as to story? Nothing. I thought, that’s it. I’m done. I’ve plumb run out of ideas. While trying to figure out this next book idea I meandered about the house, drove to the store, folded clothes, etc., etc. Finally, (you think I’d know this by now) I sat myself down, and opened up Microsoft Word – you all know the drill – to behold the BLANK page and the blinking cursor. Finally, a first sentence. Then a paragraph, and the more I wrote, the more ideas came. The longer I stayed with it, I found myself entering this new world, and even more thoughts and concepts began to click. So, writing is key. BUT, so is filling the well. And, you know for yourself what fills your well, and strangely, I’m now going to flip the advice I just gave you on its head. Leave the writing alone, and spend time – safely – doing the things that fill your well. When you come back to it, you’ll be fresh, and ready. I promise.”


Donna also shared with us one of her favorite quotes by novelist Chris Bohjalian, “Lie. Put down on paper the most interesting lies you can imagine...and then make them plausible.” A feat which she has been doing well over the years and we wish her all the best with her latest book. Congratulations Donna! And a very Happy belated Birthday to her daughter who celebrated last weekend. We hope she had a wonderful day!


The Writing Wall Podcast looks forward to hosting Mrs. Everhart on Saturday, February 27th at 6 pm EST. Followers may listen to the Podcast is on Anchor, Spotify, Apple Podcast, Google Podcast, and other platforms.


Do you want to learn more about Donna Everhart before our podcast? Visit her links below and check out her latest book The Moonshiner’s Daughter available now.


Author Bio:

Donna Everhart is the USA Today bestselling author of Southern fiction with authenticity and grit, including the Southeastern Library Association Award-winning The Road to Bittersweet and her most recent novel, The Moonshiner's Daughter. Her fifth novel, The Saints of Swallow Hill, will be released in February 2022. Along with her husband and a tiny, heart-stealing Yorkshire terrier named Mister, she lives just an hour from where she was born and raised in Raleigh, North Carolina. Please visit her online at DonnaEverhart.com. Social media links: Twitter: @wordstogobuy Facebook Page: donnadaviseverhart


Website: https://www.donnaeverhart.com/

A new Writer of the Week is featured every Monday at 8 a.m. EST on the blog. Please follow The Writing Wall on Twitter @TheWritingWall or on Instagram @writingsonthewall85 for updates and announcements. Readers may also tune into the podcast every 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month at 6 p.m. EST on Anchor, Spotify, Google Podcast, Apple Podcast, and more.

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page