top of page
Search

Writer of the Week: Emmie Brown

The Broken and Beautiful Life of Camry Hughes is an honest look at a very hard working young woman living, breathing, and dealing with her hectic New York life. However, there is more to Camry Hughes than just her day job. The same can be said of the writer of this fabulous read, Emmie Brown.


Emmie and I connected over Twitter some months ago. She was launching her book, and like myself, she was in the middle of promoting. No one tells us how difficult that can be as writers or published authors, but Emmie had it down.


Photo of Author Emmie Brown

Emmie's book cover showcased a young woman peering out at the vast New York City skyline from a window of her agency's offices.


That image alone could be a metaphor for writing in general. Sometimes it is easy to feel that we are always peering out into the unknown. Emmie however, makes it easy for readers of her book to feel as though they are the ones peering through the skyline and straight into the life of her main character.


This indie author and writer told The Writing Wall Blog even though she is from a little bit of everywhere she is glad to call Apex, NC home. At 35 years old Emmie Brown loves playing piano, has a deep relationship with coffee, and has had a love of theater for many years. We asked her what her all-time favorite pastime was and she admitted that it was cooking.


Her genre is what she calls a "mixed-bag" saying, that she loves "to write somewhere between women’s fiction, contemporary romance, and literary fiction. I like stories about strong women, flawed characters, inclusive communities, and people who face serious challenges thrown at them - and the ones they make themselves. "


A storyteller at heart Emmie explained that she has always loved devising elaborate acting personas even as a child telling us, "I would write silly and creative stories and re-purposed songs into musicals. But it was a wonderful professor in college who introduced me to screenwriting. This started me on my love of telling real stories, and that background informs my creative style today."


Having known a lot of writers who have a favorite spot, place, or atmosphere in which to write we had to inquire what Emmie's might be. "I absolutely have to write out in the world somewhere. Coffee shops or diners are my favorites - I struggle writing at home, and right now I am deeply missing the creative energy I receive being out in the world," Emmie explained.


As for her characters and what inspires her to write them so vividly, this author said, "It can be anything! But lately, it’s been songs. I’ll hear a song and think: that one line - that one phrase - I can see someone saying that! And a character will shape itself around that conversation, which then helps create the very, very, bare bones of a story for me."


Just as The Broken and Beautiful Life of Camry Hughes was touching at times it also had moments of humor brought through by some of Emmie's supporting characters. The Writing Wall Blog asked what her favorite genre to read was and Emmie told us, "Something fun and snappy. I like fast-paced reads, but I still like books to have substance. So it’s less a genre, and more a style. I’ll read anything if it keeps me engaged and entertained."


If you're curious Emmie isn't reading anything at the moment, she says instead she is going through her enneagram materials hoping to find inspiration for character ideas. Emmie says her favorite North Carolina authors are, "Rachael Brooks, and the lovely @misplacedcomma on Twitter."


For all those writers out there going through the editing process, Emmie says that this process of writing is her favorite. "I’m such a weirdo for this, I know, but I love the rewriting and revising of taking a sloppy first draft and making a beautiful story come out of it."


The quote “Write hard and clear about what hurts,” by Ernest Hemingway is Emmie's favorite. It is because her book was so well written and enjoyable, that it should be said we admire Emmie's ability to write hard and clear about life. It didn't hurt, it just made it really great.


Check out Emmie Brown on our upcoming podcast Saturday, August 8th at 6 p.m. (EST). She has provided an official excerpt from her book, The Broken and Beautiful Life of Camry Hughes below. To learn more about author Emmie Brown please check out her social media handles and book links afterward.



Excerpt:

At this point in the story, Camry is finding her sea-legs and growing in confidence in her work. We also begin to see the closeness and attraction that Laurence and Camry seem to feel for each other and yet do not admit to, not even to themselves.


*********

The second the elevator opens, I practically fly down the hall to Laurence’s office. I burst through the door without knocking, and find him sitting in an armchair, eating a salad propped on his knee and reading a book. He startles as the door flies open and barely catches the bowl of greens before it tips. He looks up at me, takes one look at my face and frazzled excitement and sets down his food. “Yes?”

He’s barely gotten out of his seat before I’m standing in front of him and I grab his hands in my excitement. “I found us a venue AND Marcus said yes!” I squeeze his hands and let them go, pacing around his office, rambling in excitement. “Marcus said he’d do it, so he’s in and I feel so good about that, and I was out this morning and found the PERFECT place to host the gala. I’m so excited! It’s the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen and I can picture the gala in my mind. It’s like a switch went off and everything just clicked and I’m completely visualizing the whole thing!”

I spin to look at him and find Laurence with a hand in front of his mouth, eyes wrinkled and shoulders shaking. I straighten up indignantly. “Are you laughing at me?”

Caught, he lowers his hands and his bemused chuckles vibrate through the air. “I see you have found your enthusiasm. I suppose the extra sleep last night helped some?”

He cocks an eyebrow at me and I feel my cheeks flame with embarrassment. “Uhm… Maybe?” I frown at him and pout, my hands on my hips as I glare at him. “Anyway, that’s not the point! Don’t you see? I’ve DONE something and now we can move forward!” Oui, oui, d’accord, this is all very wonderful. Come, sit.” He gestures to a nearby chair and I do as I’m told, while he walks over to the phone on his desk and presses a button on his intercom. “Miss Davis, please bring Miss Hughes’ lunch to my office.”

He hangs up and returns to his chair. Not a moment later, the door opens and the receptionist enters, carrying a tray of food. “Here you are,” she says softly, setting it down on the tufted footrest before me. “Would you like anything else?”

My eyes scan the food in front of me. A lunch that makes my mouth water sits before me; a bowl of tomato basil soup, sliced turkey on rye, and a sparkling water, along with a small piece of chocolate cheesecake. “Oh, this looks amazing! No, thank you, I’m all set.”

Once she exits the room, I quizzically look over at Laurence. “What’s with the lunch?”

He doesn’t meet my eyes, keeping his head down to his book, but he answers casually. “When you flew out of here earlier, it was about time for Miss Davis to collect the lunch orders. I simply ordered something for you in your absence, anticipating you’d be back eventually.”

“That’s so thoughtful of you. Thank you!” How is one man this perfect?

“If anything is not to your liking, you are free to - “

“No! It’s perfect. This looks amazing.”

He finally looks up, meeting my eyes, and smiles. “I am glad to hear that.”

I stare at him for a few moments before his expression changes. “Are you going to eat?”

“Yes! Yes I am!” I quickly look away, embarrassed by my complete transparency. I pick up the sandwich and take a large bite. “Mmm!”

I make a happy sound as I chew with my eyes closed, head towards the ceiling and I hear a laugh from beside me. “You never cease to entertain.”

I shoot him a sideways glare. “I can’t help it. This is delicious!” I take a sip of the sparkling water and sigh. “This feels heavenly. I finally feel like I’ve done something right, and now here I am eating this lovely meal with you. Thank you so much for thinking ahead and ordering me lunch. I hadn’t exactly considered that when I flew out of here earlier.”

Laurence nods quietly. “No need to thank me. Seeing you enjoy it is thanks enough.”

I look over at him and bite my lip. When he says things like that I can’t help the burst of heat in my heart and it makes me nervous. This casual flirting that he does… does he realize he is doing it? Is he like this with everyone? Or am I special?

Realizing my thoughts are taking me down a spiral I certainly don’t have time for right now, I turn back to my food, enjoying every last bite.


Once I have finished, Laurence turns to me. “So tell me about the venue you have found.” He sets down his now empty bowl, and leans back into the chair, casually crossing one leg over the other.

“Have you ever heard of Sanctuary?”

His face falls pensive, thinking for a moment, before I see a glimmer of recognition in his eyes. “I do believe I have. It’s that old converted church, isn’t it?”

“Yes, it is. It’s absolutely fantastic. I have a copy of blueprints if you want to look, but I spoke to the director and had a tour, and we were able in just a short amount of time to plan out the layout and flow. Laurence, it was stunning, and it really felt like it fit the theme we were going for. I know we said ‘timeless’ in the theme and I’m totally in love with the idea of pairing this almost ancient feel of the building with modern art. Don’t you think that would be amazing? The combination of the two would marry them together and I could really see how beautiful the place would be in my mind.”

Laurence’s forehead creases for a moment, deep in thought, his fingers steepled before his lips. “If done well.”

“Pardon?”

“The old and new would marry nicely in that space, if it is done well. Put together poorly and it would look tacky or dissected.”

I chew on his words for a moment before agreeing. “You’re correct. But I think I can do it.”

He focuses on me directly and I want to squirm a bit under his intimidating stare, but I don’t let myself. “You think you can?”

Squaring my shoulders, I sit up a little straighter. “No. I know I can.”

He stares at me for a few minutes longer, then acquiesces to my request. “Alright, if you can do it, we’ll move forward.”


My head shoots up. “Really?!”

“I presume you have looked at budgets and space and are one hundred percent sure about this? I would hope you had no doubts before coming to me with your final proposal.”

“I am totally confident.” I nod firmly, staring at him with every ounce of determination and grit I can muster.

A beat passes and then a smile blooms on his face. “Well then. It looks like we have a venue.”


“Thank you! I’ll bring you everything in a few minutes. Is that alright?”

He rises too and collects his dishes. “Yes, that’s alright.”

I go to pick up my empty plates as well and he extends a hand, placing it gently on my forearm to stop me. “Do not worry about that. I can take care of it.”

“Thank you!” I spin on my heel and dash out of the office, his laughter following me out the door.

You can follow Emmie Brown on Twitter, Facebook and visit her website for more details about her book and how you can purchase your copy below.


Twitter handle: @cornerwriting

Fb page: www.facebook.com/authoremmiebrown

Website: www.authoremmiebrown.com


A new Writer of the Week will be featured every Monday. Be sure to also follow The Writing Wall on Twitter @TheWritingWall, or on Instagram @writingsonthewall85 for the latest. You can also listen to the podcast every 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month. Just search for The Writing Wall on Spotify, Google Cast, Breaker, and more.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page