top of page
Search

Writer of the Week: Keith Wright


Our Writer of the Week was previously a Detective Sergeant on the CID for 25 years covering an inner-city area – the murder capital of the UK at the time. He was also Head of Corporate Investigations for a global corporation upon retirement and was shortlisted for The John Creasey Memorial Award by The Crime Writers Association as having written the best debut crime novel. He has received critical acclaim in The Times, Financial Times, and other quality newspapers for his books. Meet Keith Wright.


Ask author Keith Wright what his hometown is best known for and well...you will get the answer you probably expected and a few responses you may not have even known about. “Nottingham is famous for Robin Hood, Lace, Nottingham Forest Football Club (soccer) and Goose Fair which takes place in October and has done since the year 1248.”

Author Keith Wright

At 57 Keith writes crime novels and says his stories are, gritty, ‘hard-boiled’ books set in Nottingham in the 1980s. I have published five books so far and a short story anthology. I write during this time because I can make them authentic, having been a detective during this period. It was also a time before we had a DNA database and so the route to finding the killer is more interesting in my view.” This former detective turned author was on the force from 1979 until the end of 2005, spending a total of 20 years as a detective on the CID.


What inspired this former detective to write? Keith told the blog, “I have always loved words and reading which I get from my Mum, I guess. When I was around 14 or 15 years old, I found some books written by Ed McBain that my Mum had read and recommended to me. They are crime books centered around the 87th Precinct of the NYPD and the protagonist Detective Steve Carella. I was instantly hooked on them. It is the power of these books that I think drove me both to join the police, become a detective and subsequently become a writer. These books were my inspiration and they spoke in my language and I felt I could write in a similar way about murder cases when I became a CID Detective in Nottingham as an adult. Incredibly, some years later at a crime convention when I was on the main panel, I was invited to have dinner with a few other authors (I will name-drop – Peter Robinson and Ian Rankin and others) and my inspiration Ed McBain! He was in Nottingham promoting the revitalized screenplay of the film, The Birds, by Alfred Hitchcock which he (Ed McBain) had written under the name Evan Hunter. It was a complete thrill for me but being the idiot that I am I gave him a copy of my book which I signed for him but forgot to ask him to sign the book he gave me. It completed the circle for me even though he was a little ‘tired,’ during the meal.”


For Keith home is where he says he does his best writing, “If the weather is nice, I like to sit in the garden, but I most enjoy sitting in my local Costa Coffee shop. The buzz of the place tends to energize my writing and sometimes I will see a quirk or a nuance in an individual that I think gives a bit of flavor to a character in my book. They will never know.”


Overall this author says that sometimes a case he dealt with or an incident when he was a detective will inspire a story and usually, “extends into a story by adding a few ‘what-ifs?’ Sometimes I will do some critical thinking on a theme, for example, the next book that I am toying with I wanted to consider what would be the one thing that a normal, happy family could do, that in the blink of an eye, changes their lives, and places them in extreme danger.”


When asked how much of the experiences he had as a detective he places into his stories Keith replied, “Characterizations mainly. All the detectives in the story are composite characters of detectives I have known and worked with over the years. Including myself. This extends to characters they encounter on their investigations, whether it be sex-workers, criminals, wives or busy-bodies, chancers, victims of crime. Anyone really. I think giving some of the people who are merely passing through a book some oddity or flaw or endearing feature gives the story a boost and color. Many of us enjoy watching detective documentaries but I can guarantee you that detectives do not behave the same when a camera is following them around.”


As the interview progressed we wanted to know his thoughts on the best and worst parts of self-publishing, “I have seen both the traditional and self-publishing elements. My first books were published by Constable & Co, now Little Brown. The benefits are mainly contacts and access to top reviewers. My early books were reviewed in The Times, Financial Times, and other national newspapers. It is nigh on impossible for an indie author to manage such high-profile reviews.” He then added, “Now I am writing full-time I have decided to do it myself, at least for now. You have the freedom to write for yourself, rather than editors and others in the publishing world who can, not always, but can, be formulaic in their approach. They might not take as many risks as I sometimes take in my writing. Risks are great. The other considerable benefit is that when you finish a book you can immediately publish it. With a traditional publisher, it used to be another year before it actually went out onto the shelves.”


So, does this former detective turned crime author base his main character on anyone? The answer is actually yes. “Detective Inspector David Stark is mainly me and some cobbled-on nuances. The other detectives, as I have mentioned are composite characters, but I am not alone in thinking that the detective characters in my books are in every CID office, certainly in the 1980s: The poseur, the wise sage, the attractive female who uses her womanly wiles, the young recruit, the miserable old sweat, the ‘tell it like it is’ guy, the tough nut, the career woman, the sensitive soul. Stark’s nemesis, DI Lee Mole is an extension of some of the more unsavory elements in the CID, but Stark has a handle on him, usually at least.”


Mr. Wright has won quite a few awards for his writing including the Distinguished Favorite in the New York City Big Book Awards in 2020. “My first book One Oblique One was shortlisted for the prestigious John Creasey Award by the Crime Writers Association for the best debut crime novel of the year. It was the first year that international authors were included, and I came second to the brilliant American writer Walter Mosely, for ‘Devil In a Blue Dress.’ My fourth book Fair Means Or Foul was awarded Distinguished Favorite in The New York City Big Book Awards 2020. All the books may be read independently.”




When we caught up with Mr. Wright he had just ordered another book, “I am a big autobiography fan, as I have a great interest in people and what their story is. Often fact is stranger than fiction and I like to read between the lines. Putting that to one side, fiction-wise, I have just ordered The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman. I must confess that I write a hell of a lot more, than I read, currently. (Sorry, Stephen King).” If it’s fiction he is diving into, Keith admitted that it must be crime fiction. However, if you’re wondering what his favorite author quote is...well it comes from the Bard of Avon himself, who said “Brevity is the soul of wit.” You guessed it, William Shakespeare.


Aside from writing, Keith said he enjoyed spending time with his family in his spare time. “I also like watching my football team Nottingham Forest with my eldest boys,” He added. Keith also offered this advice for writers who are considering the self-publishing route, “The main thing I have learned over the years is that nobody really knows anything. And definitely not those people who are not writers giving writing advice. Don’t be put off on social media or anywhere else, by writing snobs talking about different ‘rules.’ It’s all nonsense. Well, not all, but beyond the basics it is. Stay true to yourself. Write for yourself. Spread descriptions out sparsely and use them to enhance the character if you can.


A controversial one is that I hate to see writers boasting about how their books are politically correct. This means they are not writing reality, and they are not addressing real issues on the page, it is a panacea they have created. It also sounds terribly dull. No conflict, no harm, no upset, no this, no that. I think it will make you pleased with yourself if you are that way inclined, but in my view, the way to deal with social issues is to put them on the page and show the world how awful these people are. You don’t have to like all your characters, let’s face it, you don’t in real life, now, do you?”


Tune in Saturday, March 27th at 6 p.m. EST as we will be reading an exclusive excerpt of Keith Wright’s novel Murder Me Tomorrow. To learn more about our Writer of the Week head over to his links and follow him on social media.


Keith Wright’s books are available on Amazon in paperback, Kindle, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, and Nook. His website also has free short stories, samples of his novels, videos, and blogs.


Website: www.keithwrightauthor.co.uk.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/keithwrightauthor/

Twitter: @keithwwright.

Instagram: @keithwright278

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/19351123.Keith_Wright



AUTHOR BIO:


Having resumed full-time writing in 2019 Keith’s re-mastered fourth novel ‘Fair Means or Foul’ was awarded ‘Distinguished Favorite’ in the annual New York City Big Book awards 2020, with entries from 6 continents.


His short story ‘The Shift’ published in the internationally renowned ‘Mystery Tribune’ based in New York in 2020.


Keith’s latest projects are a short story anthology of crime short stories ‘Killing Dad,’ and he has just launched his brand new crime thriller ‘Murder Me Tomorrow’ the fifth in the Inspector Stark series of crime thrillers which is already receiving critical acclaim. Keith owns the copyright to all.


Keith’s first novel ‘One Oblique One’ was shortlisted for The John Creasey Memorial Award by The Crime Writers Association as the best debut crime novel. He has received critical acclaim in The Times and Financial Times and other quality newspapers.


He has also had short stories published in the CWA anthology ‘Perfectly Criminal’ and ‘City of Crime’ alongside such luminaries as Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, HRF Keating, and Alan Sillitoe. He was a keynote speaker in the main panel in the World Mystery Convention, Bouchercon.

Keith has previously advised renowned authors Peter Robinson and HRF Keating on police matters and investigations.


Keith has previously been a Detective Sergeant on the CID for 25 years covering an inner-city area – the murder capital of the UK at the time. He was Head of Corporate Investigations for a global corporation upon retirement.


He has four children and lives with his partner, Jackie.



CONTACT DETAILS FOR ENQUIRIES: Keithwright278@gmail.com


Bibliography:

One Oblique One. Shortlisted for the John Creasey Award for best debut crime novel. Remastered – 2019.

Trace and Eliminate. Remastered 2019.

Addressed To Kill. Remastered 2019.

Fair Means Or Foul. Remastered 2019. Awarded Distinguished Favorite in NYC Big Book Awards 2020.

Killing Dad. His own short story anthology. Newly published 2020.

Murder Me Tomorrow. Newly published 2020.


Other Works:

Short story ‘The Shift’ published by Mystery Tribune in New York.

Short story ‘The Missing Link’ published in the CWA short story anthology – ‘Perfectly Criminal.’ Severn House.

Short story ‘From The Cradle’ published in ‘City of Crime’ Nottingham’s leading writers. Five Leaves publishing.


A new Writer of the Week is featured every Monday at 8 a.m. EST on the blog. Please follow The Writing Wall on Twitter @TheWritingWall or on Instagram @writingsonthewall85 for updates and announcements. Readers may also tune into the podcast every 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month at 6 p.m. EST on Anchor, Spotify, Google Podcast, Apple Podcast, and more.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page