top of page
Search

Writer of the Week: Sarah Sutton & Out of My League

Updated: Jul 8, 2020


What Are Friends For? Well according to Sarah Sutton who is "pitching" her second book, friends are awesome to have especially if they are as supportive as she is to those in our Writing Community. Check out Sarah's Writer of the Week info below to learn more about her and her new book!


Sarah Sutton is a resident of a small town in Michigan who describes herself as a "Young adult author who writes about teenagers falling in love, sometimes with magic."


One of the first individuals I met from the Writing Community was Sarah Sutton. Her eye-catching online banners for her first novel titled What Are Friends For? Kept drawing her followers and me, back to her page. At that time she was just weeks away from her book launch and had just unveiled her cover.


Taking a closer look at her book, I decided to purchase it for myself. Within minutes of reading, I was hooked! The main character faces everyday obstacles in both her academic and personal life, but this is compounded when a kissing game goes array.


"Reading at such a young age really inspired me to pursue writing, "Sarah told the blog," I remember falling in love with the art of storytelling when I was in first grade! I'm a sucker for a good Young Adult romance, but lately, I've been loving Young Adult Paranormal Romances or Young Adult Fantasy (with you guessed it, heavy romantic elements)."


Moreover, Sarah's favorite spot to write is in her shed. From photos on her Instagram, writers can catch glimpses into the cozy nook she has made for herself. Even creating manuscript wallpaper which I love!


Like most of us, Sarah is into music and said she "got a lot of inspiration from songs. I'll picture song playing out in my head, and a story immediately follows!" When asked what her favorite author quote is she said "It's hard to pick a favorite," but then offered Louisa MayAlcott's quote, "I've got the key to my castle in the air, but whether I can unlock the door remains to be unseen."


Sarah equally possesses versatility in the indie author world due to her ability to connect with her followers in some fun and energetic ways. Not only is Sarah on all three social media platforms, but she also hosts a YouTube channel for fellow writers!


Sarah offers tons of advice for both new and even veteran writers via her channel. Topics from Writing Tips on How to Craft Characters to Words to Strike from Your WIP (Work in Progress/Manuscript) are all up for discussion.


Between her busy writing, YouTube, and newsletter schedule Sarah told the blog she enjoys videos and admitted she was on a kick about "slime-video-watching. I love watching how they're made and how certain people decorate them."


A piece of advice she offered to share with new and aspiring indie authors was, "Don't let fear hold you back! I never thought I'd be able to do it, but sometimes you just have to push on. Don't let anything derail your train!" 


If you read What Are Friends For? You will be happy to learn that book number two is available tomorrow!!!


Her second and much-anticipated novel titled Out of My League will be launching June 16th, 2020! If you have not already purchased your advanced copy, be sure and give it a look and follow Sarah across all social media platforms for the latest updates.


Photo of Author Sarah Sutton

The Writing Wall blog congratulates our Writer of the Week and wishes her all the best in her second book debut! Congratulations Sarah!


Read an exclusive excerpt below from Out of My League:


“Shh. Just say ‘yes, Walsh’ and close your eyes.”

I gritted my teeth but relented, swaying as my vision filled with black. “I hate surprises.”

Walsh pressed firmer against my side, his chest touching my shoulder, a smile in his voice.


“I think you’ll like this one.”

Grass crunched beneath my bare toes as he moved me along, but I remained a good sport and kept my eyes sealed. Though it was silly, my heart started to beat faster, the anticipation making me nervous. His hands that curved over my shoulders were gentle, the pressure steady, his body close enough behind me that I could practically feel his proximity.

“Relax,” Walsh said, guiding me to a halt. “Your shoulders are so tense. I’m not about to kill you and stuff you in my trunk.”

“Your trunk’s huge. You seriously think you’d have to stuff me into it?”

Walsh was close enough that I could feel him chuckle.

“Can I open my eyes now?”

Walsh hesitated for a moment before he let go entirely. “Yes.”


Book Links:

AMAZON ORDER LINKS:

WHAT ARE FRIENDS FOR?: https://amzn.to/3duBEcn

OUT OF MY LEAGUE: https://amzn.to/36U4uAp

Social Media Links:


A new Writer of the Week will be featured every Monday. Be sure to also follow The Writing Wall on Twitter @TheWritingWall, or on Instagram @writingsonthewall85 for the latest.


You can also listen to the podcast every 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month. Just search for The Writing Wall on Spotify, Google Cast, Breaker, and more.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page