top of page
Search

Writer of the Week: Thia Finn

Updated: May 7, 2023

This week's Writer of the Week is from Mont Belvieu, TX about thirty miles from Houston. Her books touch down on our blog for some rock and roll, football, and a little romance.



"I grew up here when it was a small town (44 in my grad class). The town has grown exponentially over the past five years. I’m ready to move on."


Thia told the blog that she has always wanted to write, "I’ve wanted to write since high school but back then becoming a writer was done the old-fashioned way… traditional. After retiring from education, I decided I had time to finally do what I wanted. Also, reading Rockstar romances enticed me to choose it."


She enjoys writing in her kitchen believe it or not, which sounds like a great idea for those of us who enjoy writerly snacks (ha-ha), "My kitchen table overlooks my big backyard with huge oaks, the pool, etc. It’s a peaceful place with lots of nature to watch."


We had to ask where she drew inspiration for her stories, "Reading about bands, going to concerts and festivals. I love live music and my imagination runs wild as I watch bands. I enjoy the music but watching their interactions with each other and roadies, and then with audience members gives me lots of ideas."


Research for some books is essential to telling the story in a realistic way, so we were curious to know what she may have researched and if any part of that research had stood out to her. Thia told the blog, "This book is part of Samantha A. Cole’s Security World. My main male character is a pilot. I did some private pilot research. I didn’t learn much from it but ran across the tags, remove them before the flight. That gave me my title."


Because it is easy to see books such as Thia's being turned into movies, we wanted to know if she had ever considered who might play her MC (main character)? My cover has Wander Aguiar on it so that’s who I picture. Maybe Antonio Banderas. Although he’s Spanish, he’s hot and older. My main character is older, like the ’50s instead of the typical 25-35 range."


When we caught up with Thia she was working her way through Geissinger’s backlist of romances. Her favorite genre to read is the one she also writes, Rockstar romance. However, in her spare time Thia admitted she enjoyed being outdoors. "Travel nationally and internationally. Camp, go mudding in our side by side, read by the pool, I get on a craft kick sometimes, decorate, shop, read, be with my grandson and other family."


Good news for fans of this genre, Thia is working on three novels at the moment but her latest Kiss Me is her current project and added, "I also write at CE Griffin. Those books are written in collaboration with a psychic who approached me to write her past lives. They are not romance, although there is a love story in them. We released book one, Silma’s Other Side, in August. I’m working on book two now. She assures me there will be three."


Thia shared this advice for writers who are looking to self-publish this year, "Be prepared to spend money. You need to hire a good editor and proofreader. Watch out for those claiming to be one or both. Read published books by them before hiring. Failure to understand this cost me, readers, with the first book. Second, be prepared to spend as much time promoting as you do writing, if not more. Spend money on ads that get you noticed on social media."


Speaking of social media you may visit Thia Finn on her website, follow her on Twitter, and on IG using the handle @cegriffin.thiafinn.




A big thank you to our Writing Corner Wednesday authors, poets, and storytellers for sharing their remarkable works with us. We hope you will follow them and also follow our Writer of the Week. Catch our Podcast every 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month via Anchor, Spotify, Apple Podcast, Google Podcast, and more. Follow The Writing Wall on Twitter @TheWritingWall and on Instagram @writingsonthewall85 for more details. Season 2 Finale of the Podcast Saturday, April 24th at 6 pm EST and Writing Corner finale Wednesday, April 28th at 6 pm EST. Podcasts are available on Anchor, Spotify, Apple Podcast, and other platforms. Follow us on social media for all the latest. Season 3 submissions close on April 30th.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page