top of page
Search

Writing Corner: Stephanie Ray

Alleghany County is a hidden enclave for individuals seeking community, connection, and a desire to dive deep into the arts. This is amplified when one is surrounded by a beautiful atmosphere such as ours in the Blue Ridge Mountains. It is no wonder people from all over our nation and the great state of North Carolina choose to call Alleghany home. Meet our Writing Corner Wednesday scribe Stephanie Ray, a local writer, and artist who has found her own inspiration right here amidst the mountains.


Born in Charlotte, NC, and growing up in Stanley, NC, Stephanie Ray has called Alleghany home for a few years now. The community where she was raised is best known for textiles of which her father was a textile chemist. In her 50s, she loves to write poetry and short stories.

Stephanie Ray, Writer

With her mother's encouragement, Stephanie found a love for the arts at a young age.


She "always encouraged me to do a variety of arts and crafts and probably encouraged me to write. I remember writing poetry in elementary school and loved to read."


Ask Stephanie where she enjoys writing and she'll tell you it's in her outdoor cabin where she can be inspired by her inner muse. "Things just pop into my head, or I participate in a writing challenge that gets that Inner Muse going. I’ve woke up with ideas."


So what does this local short storyteller enjoy reading? Stephanie is into crafting, how-to books, and even herbal wildcrafting. She admits, though, that her all-time favorite genres to read are those filled with history or good mysteries.


Other than writing Stephanie plays the Native American Flute (NAF), does fiber arts, painting, and enjoys the great outdoors. In fact, Stephanie has had some amazing adventures outdoors like when she went on dinosaur digs.


"I've traveled out west on three dinosaur digs with the Schiele Museum in Gastonia, and in Thermopolis, Wyoming, and on private property arranged through the museum also in Wyoming. We went prehistoric “fishing”  in a quarry known for its fossil fish. We tried our luck cracking huge stones to see if we could find fossil fish. I still have pictures, fun trips!"


Stephanie has traveled abroad as well. She told the Blog she has been to Germany three times to travel and visit with family, "the first time was when I was four-years-old."


Although this scribe has not yet published she certainly hopes to one day. Stephanie's favorite book turned movie is The Sound of Music, released in 1965. "Anything with a funny or happy ending," she said is always the best sort of movie.


Poet Maya Angelou, also an NC resident before her passing in 2014, is quoted as one of Stephanie's favorite writers. “You can’t use up Creativity. The more you use, the more you have.” Stephanie's inner muse and advice to writers and artists truly resonate best with what art really is. An open hand for the instrument, brush, pen, or camera to be to create something amazing.


“A closed fist gathers no love." ~Stephanie Ray




Stephanie Ray's short story is next......





Must Love Animals

By Stephanie Ray


The day dawned bright and beautiful, so I decided to escape the confines of my hotel room for a walk-in Union Park. I was visiting the city for inspiration to write and there was definitely plenty of it!


It was a chilly day and I put on my favorite fuzzy sweater to ward off the chill. I was mere steps from the park entrance when an elderly woman approached, arms outstretched as if to hug me! I tried to sidestep her, but she plowed ahead and grabbed my sweater rubbing it as if it was a long-lost pet; I admit I was taken aback, as I’m just a gal from the country;

She exclaimed, “You must love animals”.


I asked her “What makes you say so,” as I took a step back to disengage her grip from my sweater. She released her grip on my sweater and looked at me confused and said, “Oh, I thought you were holding a little gray dog. My Fifi ran away and I thought you were bringing her back. I just knew you were an animal lover. I felt it.”


“I’m Nora,” she said. “Perhaps you can help me find Fifi. I live nearby.”


“Sure,” I said, curious to find out more. “Let’s sit over here on the bench and chat.”

“Oh, thank you,” said Nora. She continued; “I was walking in the Park with Fifi on a leash. She saw a squirrel and bolted, ripping the leash out of my hand, and off she went after the squirrel. I was beside myself as I walked about calling her name. Alas, to no avail! I guess I was seeing things when I saw you. Your sweater was so fuzzy I imagined she was in your arms! I do apologize! “Tears started to well in her eyes.


I said to Nora, “Perhaps we can go look for her together. Between the two of us, we are bound to find her. Nora jumped up from the bench with glee and said to me, Oh, thank you, that is so kind of you! Before I could say another word, Nora appeared to skip into the park. Amazingly spry as she had appeared so fragile when she first approached me! I jumped up to follow her, but when I rounded the curve in the path she was gone!


Nowhere to be found, though I had a clear view for quite away. I walked up the path looking around to see if I could spot her. Perhaps she had stepped off into the sparse patch of trees in search of Fifi. She seemed to have disappeared into thin air! Just ahead, I saw a vendor selling Hot drinks and snacks. I stopped and purchased hot chocolate and asked the kindly looking gentleman if he had seen anyone come by looking for a little gray dog named Fifi.


“Ahhh”, He commented, “I see you’ve met Nora; she usually appears this time of year. She passed on many years ago. They say she died of a broken heart after her dog Fifi slipped out of her hands chasing after a squirrel. Quite sad. You are the third person that asked me today!”


Stunned, I thanked the kindly gentleman and walked away. As I left the park behind, I took one last look over my shoulder and swore I saw Nora walking Fifi. Together again!




Want to see one of Stephanie's crafts? This writer also gives back by making these great needle felted bees! Stephanie said, "I made up a couple of kits with instructions different colors for fun. Originally to sell for the writer's group." Here is a photo of one such bee. Thanks for sharing Stephanie! 🐝



A new Writer of the Week is featured every Monday. Be sure to also follow The Writing Wall on Twitter @TheWritingWall, or on Instagram @writingsonthewall85 for the latest. You can also listen to the podcast every 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month. Just search for The Writing Wall on Spotify, Google Cast, Breaker, and more. Thank you to our Writing Corner Wednesday authors, writers, and poets!


81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page