top of page
Search

Writing Corner: Tyler Davis, New America: Awakenings

Updated: Sep 20, 2020



Giving the current situation with the pandemic it is not lost on this historian and writer, that something new could emerge out of what may seem so life-altering. Perhaps it is the "what ifs" that keep us intrigued and turning pages of a book. I believe this is exactly what first drew me to the title of New America: Awakenings by Writer of the Week Tyler Davis.


47-year-old Tyler Davis is an indie author from Oregon whose state is most famous for The Oregon Trail, and no not the 1971 computer game version, but the real deal. The Oregon Trail lead pioneers to settle out West, leaving their homes, families, and all they knew back East. A scene that well fits the genre Tyler writes since he puts his characters into a futuristic and very different country from the one we know today.


Tyler's book New America: Awakenings is a dystopian novel set in a future America that has battled another civil war. A partial description of the books reads, "Foreign invaders try to take over America. America prevails. Winning is not the end. Now, New America is divided up by race and religion in an attempt to keep the peace."


"I have written short film scripts and an internet television script that covered multiple genres. I love writing in the dystopian themes, they are the best. Not only do they focus on individual struggles with themselves, but also the governments in which they live. Dystopias allow us to envision our own world differently. We can envision the worst-case scenarios through the optimistic lens of change," According to Tyler who also said he started writing at ten years old on a typewriter.

Photo of Author Tyler Davis

"I had an old fashioned, nonelectric, typewriter I had bought at a garage sale. I loved reading and the worlds that were created. I wanted to create my own worlds. L.M. Montgomery was my biggest influence at the time. I adored Anne from Anne of Green Gables. I wanted to create worlds and characters that would influence others as well."


Tyler is not just a writer though. Like most of us, he has a day job that pays the bills. As a nurse, he is able to apply his knowledge of medicine when writing. "While being a nurse doesn’t play a part directly, I am able to use my knowledge in scenes that have a medical tilt to them."


When we write these articles we have made a point to ask most writers, authors, and storytellers if there is a special place where they go to put pen to paper. Tyler told The Writing Wall Blog that he enjoys his office, a great spot to write which is made even better since it comes with four-legged friends. Tyler says he enjoys writing in his office with his dogs and his cat nearby. "It's my "safe space." I often have headphones on so I can listen to inspirational music while I write int the background."


The question of what if? inspires him to come up with his dystopian tales as he explained, "that question is how most of my stories start. I will see something in common life and I’ll ask myself the question, “What if?”


How long does it take a writer to shape a dystopian tale? Well, Tyler mentioned in our interview that he started writing New America in 2015. "I had a major life move across the country and the start of a new job. I had to put it down 3/4 finished for about two and a half years. But while I wasn’t writing, I was developing the plot in my mind for where all three books would go."


For those who remember Fallen Skies, TNT's hit futuristic series, New America is reminiscent and sounds like a script us Fallen fans would love to see on the screen. When asked who he would like to see play his characters Tyler stated that he would like his main character to be played by a new up and coming actor. However, he saw his antagonist being played by the great Kathy Bates (of Stephen King Misery fame).


Like some new writers, Tyler is actually going under a pseudonym. "I thought long and hard about it and decided that for safety and anonymity, of sorts, that I would go with a pen name."


Just because he has finished writing does not mean he isn't reading. When the blog caught up to Tyler he was reading Postscript by Barbara Avon. It's no surprise that Tyler also enjoys other dystopian and fantasy authors and books such as City of Bones and Superheroes. Moreover, we had to ask him his favorite quote, and if you liked Buffy the Vampire Slayer you'll enjoy this quote from the show's script. " I’m peachy with a side of keen." Joss Whedon is a literary god. "


And in case you are wondering...there will be a sequel to New America: Awakenings according to Tyler, "I am working on New America: Revelations, book two."


Tyler offered this piece of advice for writers who are considering self-publication. " Self Publishing is a personal decision. Some think less of indie authors and think they're not “real” authors if they don’t have an agent and get published through a traditional publisher. I think this is a mistake. It’s denying the world your art. The difficult part of deciding to self publish is if you doing it all yourself or utilize a hybrid company. There are a lot of scams out there. But the beauty of finding a good hybrid company is that you get editing services and take little things off of your plate. Do your research on the company you use. Ensure there are editing services. If they offer “up sales” on services, I would say stay away. Unless you have a professional editor as a free resource, you’re going to have to pay for it. So, consider a hybrid publisher."


To follow Tyler Davis on social media find his links below, and New America: Awakenings will debut this fall! Visit his pages and visit YouTube for his trailer for all the latest details and information. Congratulations Tyler on your novel, we look forward to adding it to our To Be Read Lists!


Tyler Davis Website:


Tyler Davis on Twitter:


Tyler Davis FaceBook:


Tyler Davis YouTube:




A new Writer of the Week is featured every Monday. Be sure to also follow The Writing Wall on Twitter @TheWritingWall, or on Instagram @writingsonthewall85 for the latest. You can also listen to the podcast every 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month. Just search for The Writing Wall on Spotify, Google Cast, Breaker, and more. Thank you to our Writing Corner Wednesday authors, writers, and poets!

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page